Kategorie: Gruppen

Vorstellung des neuen Hausverwalters

Ich bin Chloe und werde Sally übernehmen, die zuvor die Rolle der Hausverwalterin bei Godinton innehatte. Nach dem 3.5 Jahre auf Schloss Windsor, Ich bin nach Kent gezogen und genieße es, die Schönheit der Umgebung zu erkunden. Obwohl ich erst drei Wochen in der Rolle bin, die zeit vergeht schonFinde mehr heraus

Hinter den Kulissen im Winter

Besucher fragen oft, was das Personal im Winter macht, wenn das Haus geschlossen ist. Um ein Beispiel zu geben, das Bauteam führt derzeit Deckenreparaturen rund um die Erker in der Großen Kammer durch. Obwohl die Arbeit sehr gering ist und nur ein paar Tage dauern wird, das House Team hat sich vorher an die Arbeit gemachtFinde mehr heraus

Hauseröffnung

Was für ein Vergnügen, durch das Haus zu gehen und zu sehen, dass alle Ausstellungsräume entstaubt sind, gesaugt und entsponnen, Uhren aufgezogen und schlagen die Stunden, Blumen aus dem ummauerten Garten gepflückt und von Manuela . fachmännisch arrangiert, einer unserer ehrenamtlichen Guides, Bringt wieder Leben ins Haus. Wir freuen uns über unsere BesucherFinde mehr heraus

Hausvorbereitungen

In den letzten Wochen, Das House-Team hat die Vorbereitungen getroffen, um die Besucher im Juni willkommen zu heißen. Die beiden angrenzenden Bibliotheken im Erdgeschoss sehen jetzt wieder gut aus. Diese gemütlichen Zimmer, durch luxuriöse Samtvorhänge getrennt, sind ein friedlicher Ort, um in die bequeme zu versinkenFinde mehr heraus

Fantastischer Kamin

Der fantastische Kamin in der Großen Halle des Godinton House hat eine Einfassung aus Bethersden-Marmor, Dies ist ein Kalkstein, der aus dem Weald Clay rund um das Dorf Bethersden gewonnen wurde, ungefähr gelegen 4 Meilen von Godinton. Der Stein besteht aus den Schalen von Süßwasserschnecken und -zwinkern, die einen klaren Umriss hinterlassenFinde mehr heraus

Winterreinigung

Jetzt, da wir für die Saison geschlossen sind, Das Hausteam startet das Winterreinigungs- und Konservierungsprogramm. Die Arbeiten zur Reinigung und Neuorganisation der gelagerten Gegenstände auf den Dachböden haben begonnen, und diese Woche haben Angie und Sara das, was wir "Maids Room" nennen, komplett überarbeitet. Dieser Raum ist Teil der Tour für die SchuleFinde mehr heraus

Der Uhrenexperte von Trust, kehrt zurück

Wir haben uns gefreut, den Uhrenexperten des Trust begrüßen zu dürfen, Duncan Greig, zurück zum Haus, um die Uhren weiter zu warten. Während Duncans letztem Besuch zerlegte er die James McCabe Bracket Uhr im Speisesaal, um Eveliina Peltola zu erlauben, der Möbelrestaurator des Trusts, das Gehäuse der Uhr zu reparieren, einschließlich der Stabilisierung loser Furniere undFinde mehr heraus

Wiedereröffnung des Gartens

Garteneröffnung ab Dienstag, 30. Juni Wir freuen uns, ab Dienstag, 30. Juni vorgebuchte Eintrittskarten für den Garten anbieten zu können. Der Garten ist von Dienstag bis Sonntag von 13 bis 18 Uhr geöffnet (letzter gebuchter Eintrag 17 Uhr). Bitte füllen Sie das Online-Formular auf unserer Website mit Ihrem bevorzugten Datum und Ihrer bevorzugten Uhrzeit aus, Sie werden dann gesendetFinde mehr heraus

Category: Groups

Introduction to the new House Manager

I am Chloe and I will be taking over from Sally who previously held the role of House Manager at Godinton. After 3.5 years at Windsor Castle, I have moved to Kent and I am enjoying exploring the beauty of the surrounding area.  Though I am only three weeks into the role, time is already flyingFind out more

Fine Carpets and Rugs

When our visitors embark on a tour of the house led by our experienced and knowledgeable guides, they will not find any ropes or barriers and are able to study our varied and extensive collection of furniture, porcelain, paintings and objets d’art up close. Also, underfoot, are many fine carpets and rugs including these colourful stairFind out more

Archive Gems

We are lucky to have many gems in the archives at Godinton, among them is this Liberty & Co drawing of the alterations Lillie Bruce Ward made to the Gallery in 1925, opening up the west wall and creating a carved screen and gallery onto the Great Hall, giving us the impressive view we see from the GreatFind out more

Behind the scenes during winter

Visitors often ask what the staff do in the winter when the house is closed. To give one example, the building team is currently carrying out ceiling repairs around the bay windows in the Great Chamber. Although the work is very minor and will only take a few days, the House Team got to work beforehand preparingFind out more

House Opening

What a pleasure to walk through the house and see that all the showrooms have been dusted, hoovered and de-cobwebbed, clocks wound and chiming the hours, flowers picked from the walled garden and expertly arranged by Manuela, one of our volunteer guides, bringing life to the house again. We are delighted to welcome our visitorsFind out more

House Preparations

Over the last few weeks, the House Team has been busy working through the house making preparations to welcome visitors back in June. The two adjoining Libraries on the ground floor are now looking their best once again. These cosy rooms, separated by luxurious velvet curtains, are a peaceful place to sink into the comfortableFind out more

Fantastic Fireplace

The fantastic fireplace in the Great Hall at Godinton House has a surround made of Bethersden marble, which is a limestone quarried from the Weald Clay around the village of Bethersden, situated approximately 4 miles from Godinton. The stone is made up of the shells of freshwater snails and winkles, which leave a clear outlineFind out more

Winter cleaning

Now that we are closed for the season, the house team are starting the winter cleaning and conservation programme. Work has begun in the attics cleaning and re-organising stored items, and this week Angie and Sara gave what we call the “Maids Room” a complete overhaul. This room is part of the tour for schoolFind out more

Trust’s clock expert, returns

We were pleased to welcome the Trust’s clock expert, Duncan Greig, back to the house to continue servicing the clocks. During Duncan’s last visit he dismantled the James McCabe Bracket clock in the Dining Room to allow Eveliina Peltola, the Trust’s furniture restorer, to repair the case of the clock, including stabilising loose veneers andFind out more

Garden re-opening

Garden Opening from Tuesday 30th June We are delighted to be able to offer pre-booked tickets for the garden from Tuesday 30th June. The garden will open Tuesday to Sunday from 1pm to 6pm (last booked entry 5pm). Please complete the on-line form on our website with your preferred date and time, you will then be sentFind out more